John Neilson
Austin - Texas - United States

John Neilson is truly an artist’s artist. He writes songs that are brutally honest, pure, and from the heart. He gained the attention of music supervisors while living in LA and secured licensing deals with Sony, and Viacom, and has had 14 of his songs placed on TV & Films.  While in LA, he penned songs with platinum recording artists Sophie B. Hawkins & LA Guns.  He also wrote songs with the Electro Dance act Oh Snap!!, who was signed to Sony/Onelove in Australia. Platinum Producer Jim Wirt heard some of Neilson’s demos and quickly got him into the studio to record. The two have recorded two records together, Wirt even played bass in Neilson’s live band while he was living in LA, playing venues like The Hotel Café, The Troubadour and House of Blues to name a few. Neilson also toured with Oh Snap!! in between singer songwriter tours. The two played Creamfield’s Festival in Australia to over 15,000 people.

John Neilson now resides in Austin, TX, and has quickly become a mainstay at Strange Brew Lounge Side, the winner of Austin’s “Best Live Venue” at the 2014 Austin Music Awards.   Strange Brew Lounge Side started an Independent Label in 2014, Lounge Side Records, and signed John to the label. His new record, “Tomorrow Comes the Spring”, is due out Feb 6th 2015. Jim Wirt produced the new record, which features the single “Lights of Los Angeles”. 

John has had the pleasure of sharing the stage with the likes of Jason Isbell, Patterson Hood, Joshua Radin, Bob Schneider, Brett Dennen, Paul Thorn, William Fitzsimmons, Jon Dee Graham, Calexico,  Augustana, One Republic, Katy Perry, Sophie B. Hawkins, Beth Orton, Sara Bareilles, Ian Moore, Kinky Friedman, Joe Pug, Matt the Electrician, Shelley King, Kevin Devine, LA GUNS, Oh Snap!!, Lil Jon, LMFAO and The Bloody Beetroots to name a few.

change album image

Tomorrow Comes the Spring - Details

Label: Lounge Side

Genres: Country

Styles: Americana Country

Songs on the Album

Track # Song Title Style Genre
1 Fall Americana Country Country
2 Lights of Los Angeles Americana Country Country
3 Starlight Eyes Americana Country Country
4 Shape I'm in Americana Country Country
5 Dreams at Night Americana Country Country
6 Coming Home Americana Country Country
7 Take a Shot Americana Country Country
8 One Week Americana Country Country
9 End of the Road Americana Country Country
10 Columbian Cocaine Americana Country Country
11 Walk Away Americana Country Country